2017-2018 Niagara Shares Scholarship

In Announcements, by , on March 16th, 2017

It is time once again to request student nominations for the Niagara Shares Scholarship, which will be awarded for the 2017-2018 school year. All employees are encouraged to nominate a student who meets the criteria described below. Last year, $24,700 was awarded to deserving students thanks to your support and nominations.

The Niagara Shares Scholarship Committee will review the recommendations and select a number of students to be awarded the scholarships. The Niagara Shares Scholarship Committee is composed of Fran Boltz, Shana DiCamillo, Sharon Watkinson, Elaine Morreale, James Kling, Beverly Junevic, Stephanie Currie-Chesebro and Katie Kocsis (Chair).

If you would like to nominate a student for the scholarship, please use the attached nomination form. The guidelines for the scholarship state that a student must:

  1. Be a resident of Niagara or Erie County.
  2. Have a cumulative QPA of at least 2.50.
  3. Be a sophomore, junior, or senior in 2017-2018.
  4. Exhibit financial need (this criterion will be assessed by the Financial Aid Office).
  5. Maintain a lifestyle which is in keeping with the Vincentian tradition. This quote is taken from the University mission statement:

As a Vincentian university, Niagara draws inspiration from St. Vincent de Paul, who organized his contemporaries  to respond compassionately to people’s basic needs.  Continuing this tradition, Niagara seeks to inspire its students to serve all members of society, especially the poor and oppressed, in local communities and in the larger world.

The Niagara Shares Committee has requested that an employee nominate no more than one student.

Please return the nomination form to Katie Kocsis, Financial Aid Office, Butler Building, by Wednesday, March 29, 2017. You may fax it to 716.286.8678 or email it to sag@niagara.edu.