Association of Teacher Educators (ATE) 2017 Presidential Award for Service Presented to Dr. Walter S. Polka

In Announcements, by , on February 23rd, 2017

On Feb. 13, 2017, at the National Conference Awards Banquet of the Association of Teacher Educators (ATE) in Orlando, Florida, Dr. Walter S. Polka, Niagara University professor of professional studies and coordinator of the Ph.D. program in leadership and policy, was presented a Presidential Award for Service by ATE President Shirley Lever-Davis, dean of the College of Education, Wichita State University. This is the second time that Dr. Polka has been presented this prestigious award, as he previously received the Association of Teacher Educators Presidential Award for Service in 2014.

The Association of Teacher Educators (ATE) was founded in 1920 and is an individual membership organization devoted solely to the improvement of teacher education both for school-based and post secondary teacher educators. ATE members represent over 700 colleges and universities, over 500 major school systems, and the majority of state departments of education. The ATE office is located in the Washington DC area where it represents its members’ interests before governmental agencies and education organizations. In addition, ATE has representatives on the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP).