Vincentian Heritage Convocation

In Announcements, by , on September 25th, 2017

The Convocation ceremony is a Vincentian Heritage Week tradition.  During this ceremony on Thursday, September 28, 4:00 p.m. in Alumni Chapel, we recognize members of the university community as well as others who inspire us through their outstanding work in the spirit of St. Vincent de Paul.  The keynote speaker will be the Reverend Patrick J. Griffin, C.M.  All members of the university community are invited to the Convocation ceremony.

2017 Honorees:

Honorary Doctoral Degree: Rev. Patrick J. Griffin, C.M., Executive Director of the Vincentian Center for Church and State, St. John’s University.

Vincentian Mission Award: Mr. Kurt Von Voetsch, Gallery Manager, Castellani Art Museum, Adjunct Professor, Theatre and Fine Arts, Niagara University.

St. Vincent de Paul Medal: William Bradberry ’70, B.A., J.D., President and Chairman Niagara Falls Underground Railroad Heritage Area Commission, Community Activist, Columnist for the Niagara Gazette.

St. John-Gabriel Perboyre Award: Rev. Patrick Flanagan, CM,’87, Ph.D. Associate Professor, Theology and Religious Studies, Religious Superior, Vincentian Community Murray House, St. John’s University

St. Louise De Marillac Award for Outstanding Service: Denise Gonez-Santos, Executive Director, Regional Bilingual Education-Resource Network West, Supervisor, Erie 1 BOCES

Ozanam Medal: Dr. Mustafa Gökçek, Ph.D. Associate Professor, History Department. Director, M.A. – Interdisciplinary Studies, Niagara University

Vincentian Heritage Week, Celebrating 400 Years of the Vincentian Charism